Heads of Schools Program

"I appreciated the rigor of the research. Too often in our profession pop psychology rules the day, so getting back to my academic roots was both important and enjoyable. The program expects you to challenge your own assumptions about education, and yet the result for me was a strengthening of my own convictions." TJ Locke, HDS '12, The Episcopal Academy, PA

Ask a room full of heads to describe a typical day on the job and it quickly becomes apparent that no such day exists. Educational leadership is complex and demanding, driven at its core by the mandate to shape the next generation in the face of economic, social and political challenges.

Schools today require heads who can balance work as CEOs, moral guides, counselors, cheerleaders, fundraisers and educational experts in a changing school environment. At the helm of such institutions are individuals like you who juggle this multitude of responsibilities with intellect, compassion and humor while working to remain true to what first drew you to the profession—the prospect of shaping the hearts and minds of young people.

The Klingenstein Heads program offers talented individuals the time and resources for true renewal and reflection about their passion and their work in the company of equally committed peers.

The 2014 cohort welcomed:  Gary Boehm, Maumee Valley Country Day School, Toledo, OH; Robert Carignan, Riverstone International School, Boise, ID; Maureen Fonseca, The Master's School, Dobbs Ferry, NY; Peter Howe, United World College Maastricht, Maastricht, Netherlands; Arthur (Burns) Jones, Canterbury School, Greensboro, NC; Jonathan Kellam, The Oakridge School, Arlington, TX; Mason Lecky, St. Andrew's Episcopal School, New Orleans, LA; Stewart Miller, The Greenwood School, Putney, VT; O.J. Morgan, Bright School, Chattanooga, TN; Michael Murphy, Shorecrest Preparatory School, St. Petersburg, FL; Lisa Nagel, St. Anne's School of Annapolis, Annapolis, MD; Wayne Richardson, YCIS Beijing, Chaoyang District, China; Diane Rosenberg, The Nueva School, Hillsborough, CA; Michael Schafer, Kimball Union Academy, Meriden, NH; David (Mark) Silver, Hillbrook School, Los Gatos, CA; Elizabeth Speers, The Ethel Walker School, Simsbury, CT; Drew Stephens, Southridge School, Surrey, BC, Canada; Simon Walker, Berlin British School, Berlin, Germany; and Nigel Winnard, Khartoum International Community School, Khartoum, Sudan.